Make your own free website on

station to station   1976

1. Station To Station
2. Golden Years
3. Word ON A Wing
4. TVC 15
5. Stay
6. Wild Is The Wind
Bonus Tracks
7. Word ON A Wing [live]
8. Stay [live]

B7C Review

A Bowie classic. Alike 'Hunky Dory', its sound is still appraised.


Released in January of 1976, Station To Station was another change in Bowie's music career, but also in his film career, as his first major cinematic role in 'The Man Who Fell to Earth' would be recognized soon as an interesting performance. The material on this
album was worked on and inspired by Bowie's new image the 'Thin White Duke', who, as stated, would appear in
The Man Who Fell To Earth.
Although inspirations from the film may have also lead to 'Low',
Station to Station is probably recognized as one of Bowie's greatest, classic albums of the 70s, particularly for its classic sound, as in 'Golden Years' and especially 'Wild Is The Wind'.
The live bonus tracks don't add too much glitter to the album track listing itself, but, the album doesn't need any more glitter after some of the best guitar work in 'Stay' and a memorable song like 'Station To Station' itself.
On the
UK charts at #5, and, for once, a higher chart position in the US at #3, it really made Bowie stand out during that time, when other artists were influenced by the raunchy sound of disco and yet remaining in their own burden of music. Bowie was more open-minded with his work on this album and it is definitely a great classic.

Word On A Wing / Stay
These live versions of the original songs on the 'Station To Station' LP were originally performed on the Station to Station tour, recorded February 23rd, 1976 at the Nassau Coliseum, Long Island.

David Bowie [vocals, guitar and sax]
Carlos Alomar [guitar]
Earl Slick [guitar]
Roy Bittan [piano]
George Murray [bass]
Dennis David [drums]

All songs composed by David Bowie except for 'Wild Is The Wind', which was originally composed by Dmitri Tiomkin/Ned

Re-release on Rykodisc CD:
RCD 10141